Pumpkin Pie Dip

“Gee Heather, it’s Halloween night and you’re just now posting a pumpkin-related recipe? WTF is wrong with you!?” – The world, to me right now. If anyone is reading…

Today’s shopping adventure netted me a metric crap-ton of apples. I like apples, but the skin bothers my teeth when I chomp into a whole one, so I have to core them and eat the slices…which generally begs for some sort of dipping medium. I’m not a huge fan of caramel, so that wasn’t up there on the list of things to dip the apples in.

Many moons ago, there was pumpkin pie dip served at a potluck lunch thing at work. I was in love. I made it once in the intervening couple of years and loved it. (a batch of this is quite obnoxiously large for just myself…and I will eat it constantly. Thus why I rarely make it.)  While spending an oh-so-exciting Halloween Saturday night organizing my kitchen cabinets, I noticed I had all but two of the ingredients for pumpkin pie dip on hand…plain greek yogurt and brown sugar. One trip to the store and $3 later I was in business.

As I write this right now, I’m eating the masterpiece featured below ;)

Pumpkin Pie Dip – Makes 12 surprisingly generous portions

Ingredients:

  • 15 ounce can of pumpkin
  • 3/4 cup of brown sugar (I used light, don’t pack it)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla (Real > Fake. All I had on hand was fake. Sue me.)
  • 1/8 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice (I added this amount to begin with, then I probably dumped another 1/8 of a teaspoon in before transferring it into the tupperware I was storing the dip in.)
  • 6oz 0% plain greek yogurt (Chobani is 5.3oz now. Sneaky sneaky!)
  • 8oz tub of frozen whipped topping (aka Cool Whip, etc.)
  • Apples to dip in the dip. (Graham crackers and cinnamon sugar pita chips also make awesome pairings with this stuff too.)
Ingredientses

Ingredients. Including the shady undersized yogurt. Shout out to Stop & Shop, Target, and Whole Foods who made this possible ;)

Directions:

In a big bowl mix the pumpkin, vanilla, brown sugar, and pumpkin pie spice well. (Using a big spoon is fine, no need to take out the electric beaters…) Add the yogurt to the pumpkin mix and stir that together nicely. Then add the whipped topping and mix until smooth. Dole out into a dish to dip with your apple slices…and voila…perfect pumpkin-y treat.

Pumpkin Pie Dip

Two kinds of apples…more deliciousness.

